There was an error in this gadget

Saturday, December 14, 2013

New Music: Beyoncé's Surprise Album And New Singles

I usually don't do post on entire albums but Beyoncé's self titled surprise fifth album kind of deserves a post. Never before has any artist in mainstream pop music released an album unannounced with no promotion at all. While Lady Gaga went into promotion over time with ARTPOP, Beyoncé however opted out all of the live performances, interviews, and magazine covers and just dropped her album as an early Christmas gift.

On December Friday 13th the audio visual self titled album hit iTunes with all 14 tracks and 17 music videos for sale. The album features Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieDrake, Jay Z, and Frank Ocean while Timbaland, Boots, and Pharrell handle production.

The H&M Sia penned 'Standing On The Sun' and her trill 'I Been On' no longer made the final cut (huge mistake) fans will be happy to hear that 'Bow Down' now retitled as 'Flawless' has made the final cut.

Next week Beyoncé will be releasing two new singles for mainstream top 40 radio and urban radio. The soulful/porn like 70's-esque 'Blow' will hit top 40 radio stations while her Jay Z assisted 'Drunk In Love' will impact urban radio stations with a follow-up by ballad 'X.O'. 'Blow' is the better of both first singles and in my opinon also has the best video as well even though its strong sexual nature might not fly to well on mainstream radio.

You can watch a 30 second snippet of each music video (17 in all) below and be prepared to do that since the full videos will be removed soon enough.

Beyoncé Tracklist

01. Pretty Hurts
02. Haunted
03. Drunk in Love (Featuring JAY Z)
04. Blow/Cherry
05. No Angel
06. Yoncé/Partition
07. Jealous
08. Rocket
09. Mine (Featuring Drake)
10. XO
11. Flawless (Featuring/ Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)
12. Superpower (Featuring Frank Ocean)
13. Heaven
14. Blue (Featuring Blue Ivy)

I'll need to listen to Beyoncé more before I can decide how I feel about the album but I will say that I commend her for that surprise album release.

No comments:

Post a Comment